According to the American Pyrotechnics Association [PDF], there are 42 states (and Washington, D.C.) that allow some sort of consumer fireworks. The remaining 8 states are divided equally between the “Sparkler States” — Illinois, Iowa, Ohio, Vermont — that only permit sparklers and other novelty items, and what I’ve personally labeled the “No Fun On the Fourth States” — Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Massachusetts — that don’t allow any consumer fireworks.

But even among the 42 states and D.C. that allow for fireworks fun, there is great variation in what’s permitted. Thankfully, the helpful folks at the APA have put together a state-by-state guide so you can see what’s allowed in your neck of the woods.

Regardless of which fireworks you’re allowed to set off, we hope that you do so safely. Last year, nearly 9,000 Americans were treated at emergency rooms for fireworks-related injuries and you don’t want to be one of the people on the tally for 2013, do you?




Source: Consumerist 


Tags: , , , ,